Law at Work Sporting Achievement Awards

2nd February 2012

The annual Guernsey Sports Commission Achievement Awards were held at Beau Sejour on Wednesday 18th January 2012 and were a tremendous success. Established to acknowledge those islanders who have achieved or exceeded their own sporting goals, all of the awards are based purely on nominations from the public, sports clubs and associations. The evening celebrated all that is best about sport in Guernsey, and covers all the island’s sports and as well as acknowledging the elite sports men and women it is also an opportunity to reward those people who have really developed and progressed over the last year. Jorgen Pettersson, the President of the International Island Games Association, was the guest of honour and offered an inspirational speech whilst handing out all the awards of the evening. The evening was supported by Law at Work and the co-ordination and presentation of media and audio/ visual was supplied by Island Av.

Lambourne Shield Awarded for an outstanding individual sporting achievement of the year by a boy or girl aged not less than eleven years and not more than eighteen years of age and is a resident of Guernsey. Winner:- Kristina Neves (Swimming)

Beau Sejour Trophy Awarded for the outstanding team performance of the year by a team comprised solely of Guernsey residents aged less than eighteen years of age. Winner:- Ladies Relay Swimming Team

Sports and Nautical Events ShieldAwarded to the years outstanding event organiser. This can be an individual, an event team leader, club or association who organised a sporting or nautical event in Guernsey in 2011. Winners:- Guernsey FC

Guernsey Sports Commission Small Team Trophy (4 competitors and Under)Awarded for the outstanding team performance of the year to a team containing four or less competitors comprised solely of Guernsey residents. Winners:- Compound Head to Head Archery Team

Guernsey Sports Commission Disabled Sports Achiever of the Year The outstanding disabled sports achiever of the year. Winner:- Ryan Ozanne

Guernsey Sports Commission Team Trophy (Over 4 competitors)Awarded for the outstanding team performance of the year containing more than four competitors comprised solely of Guernsey residents.  Winners:- Guernsey Cricket

Dave Dorey Memorial TrophyAwarded to the sport or the individual from that sport who have been involved in coaching and/or development and made an outstanding contribution to that sport. Winner:- David Wray

Sir John Loveridge Trophy Awarded for the sportsperson making the greatest progress in the year. There is no age limit but the person will normally be resident in Guernsey and not having won an individual Commission Trophy for the year. Winner:-  Joshua Lewis

Guernsey Brewery Salver Awarded for the outstanding individual sporting achievement of the year by a sportswoman resident in Guernsey. Winner:-  Alice Loveridge

Richard Burton Salver Awarded for the outstanding individual sporting achievement of the year by a sportsman resident in Guernsey. Winner: Lee Merrien

Guernsey Sports Commission Trophy The outstanding performer of the year. Winner:- Alison Merrien

A selection of review videos of the evening are available on YouTube, that include Jörgen Pettersson’s speech and a question and answer session with Erica Bodman and Dan Guillemette. The evening remained a success and we will be sure to host the awards the same time next year, so keep an eye out for a sporting star from your sport to nominate next year.

For further information can be obtained regarding the evening by contacting Graham Chester (Operations Director) on or by calling 747273.