World Anti-Doping Agency Publishes 2017 Prohibited List

11th October 2016

The World Anti-Doping Agency (“WADA”) has now published its 2017 list of prohibited substances and methods together with recent modifications to the list which will come into force on the 1st January 2017.

The list which is revised and published annually is released 3 months in advance of taking effect so that athletes coaches and medical advisers have ample time to familiarise themselves with the list and any modifications.

Amendments contained in the 2017 prohibited list include clarification in respect of Anabolic Agents Peptide Hormones Hormone and Metabolic Modulators. In addition Beta-2-Argonists have been further examined with dosing parameters of salbutamol being refined to make it clear that a full 24 hour dose should not be administered at one time. In addition studies are ongoing to establish an appropriate urinary concentration for inhaled salmeterol. Additions have also been made to the list of banned in competition stimulants and narcotics.

The use of codeine and the concurrent use of multiple Beta-2-Agonists have also been added to the WADA monitoring program to discover if there is a pattern of misuse by athletes indicating that they are being used to enhance performance.

The Guernsey Sports Commission therefore advises all athletes and coaches to consult the updated 2017 WADA list to make sure that they do not break the anti-doping rules and run the risk of being suspended from competition. Looking at the review being undertaken in respect of inhaled salmeterol and salbutamol athletes who are prescribed inhalers are advised to check the list in conjunction with their medical advisers to ensure that they “compete clean”. If in any doubt they should follow this up with their sports organizing body or UK Anti-Doping. In addition they may now find that they require a Therapeutic Use Exemption whereas previously they did not. It is therefore essential that athletes and coaches make sure that they are up to date prior to the 1st January 2017